Earthworm Living


A Yummy Little Drink for My Milk
April 25, 2010, 3:30 am
Filed under: Breastfeeding, Family

A Yummy Little Drink for My Milk

A friend of mine recently told me about a yummy little drink she uses to boost her breastmilk. I tried it today and find it quite delicious. When my husband tried it he said it would be really yummy with a little vodka or something added. 😉 It’s a very simple concoction. You just pineapple juice, coconut milk (not to be confused with coconut water), and a cup.

The pineapple juice is pretty easy to find since it’s usually located with the rest of the juices, but the coconut milk can be more tricky to locate. Often it’s in a specialty section around the Asian ingredients.

Mix 1 small can of pineapple juice with about 1/2 cup of coconut water and drink.

When I first opened my can of coconut water I wished that I had taken the can and given it a good shaking before I opened the top because it needed some mixing. I don’t know if shaking the can 1st would have helped any, but maybe. Anyway, I whisked it up, and it went from a fairly solid blob surrounded by water to a creamy easy to handle texture.

I drank mine at room temperature, but I suspect chilled would have made it better. I didn’t notice a milk supply explosion or anything, but I do think that it helped me maintain my supply at a time when I was sort of dehydrated and not making much milk.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Comment

