Earthworm Living


DIY Knitting Machine Repair
March 7, 2012, 7:40 pm
Filed under: knitting, Repairs

DIY Knitting Machine Repair

My dear knitting machine (I personally think the term machine is misleading since it’s human powered) had 2 of the “teeth” broken off. I’m certain there’s an official name for the “teeth”, but I don’t know it. So bear with me. LOL! With this part broken it renders the thing almost useless for what I like to do. Which is blankets. Sure I could make tiny things and stay in the areas of the machine that aren’t broken, but that’s not why I got it.

After letting it sit for about a year not knowing just how to tackle the problem I showed it to my mom who mentioned popsicle sticks. Well, I have some of those hanging around. So after pulling one out and realizing that the width is almost ideal I made a plan.

I made a paper template, carefully carved out the right shape, sanded it to make it the exact right shape, super or krazy glued it in place, and held it until the glue dried. Rinse, Repeat for the second broken spot. (people don’t really rinse anything. that’s just a shampoo joke. LOL!)

CIMG0316

CIMG0315

I was worried that the repair wouldn’t be strong enough to use, but after testing it out it held! Yay!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Comment

