Earthworm Living


Homemade Peach Fried Pies
July 26, 2012, 9:20 pm
Filed under: Cooking, u-pick

Homemade Peach Fried Pies

I know that fried pies are not the most healthy of foods, but I had a craving and needed it quenched! I started with this recipe on allrecipes http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Apricot-and-Peach-Fried-Pies/

A screenshot of the recipe:

DSC06798

I really only used the part of the recipe that tells how to make the crust and then used pie filling for the insides. One batch I used canned pie filling and another batch I used a homemade concoction of freshly picked peaches from our local u-pick orchard. They both turned out great, but try finding canned pie filling that doesn’t have high fructose corn syrup or artificial colors in it. It’s quite hard!

Of course, it wouldn’t be one of my concoctions if I didn’t go fiddling with the ingredients. So the shortening used was the trans-fat free organic version from Spectrum. Then since my family has so many lactose intolerant people we subbed Rice Dream Organic rice milk, original flavor, for the cow’s milk. It tasted normal and not weird like some might worry. LOL!

I rolled out the dough into circles using a homemade french rolling pin. Placed a blob of peach filling in the middle and closed it over. My preference was to leave the bottom crust hanging past the top crust so that the bottom could be wrapped up around the top edge and crimped. this seemed to keep the filling inside better.

DSC06795

Then it’s time to cook them. I used canola oil (since it has a fairly high smoke temp to keep the carcinogens at bay) in my iron skillet. I’ll point out that it isn’t deep fried completely submersed in oil. It only takes a layer on the bottom. Probably no more than 1/4 inch of oil. It may take some trial and error to get the right temperature.

DSC06803

When they’re nicely golden brown and you feel they look yummy, take them out and place them on a plate with a paper towel to absorb the excess oil.

DSC06807

Once they’ve cooled enough to not burn your mouth with the pie filling they’re ready to eat! YUM!

DSC06796

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Comment

